FAQ > Questions > How to Delete photos from your iDevice (iPhone, iPad, iPod)

Search the FAQ for entries containing:

This is an easy question but with a not so easy answer. A little background first.

The iPhone, iPod and iPad all sync their photo data via the iTunes application. This is the only “official” way of moving pictures from your computer into your iDevice. This is a ONE-WAY sync, which means that you can sync pictures from your computer to the iDevice but you cannot sync from the iDevice to your computer (there are of course other ways of doing this, including Picasa, our favorite, but would it not have been nice if Apple would have allowed this and made it easier for all of us)? Furthermore, once you sync pictures to your iDevice you CANNOT DELETE them from the iDevice. There is one exception to this and it is with pictures in your Camera Roll, those can be deleted.

For example say that I want to sync a folder in my computer called “Buddy”, with the iDevice connected I click on the Photos tab on iTunes, select “Selected folders” and then select the Buddy folder.

 

Make sure that your iDevice appears in iTunes

 Go ahead and sync your device with the new settings by clicking apply at the bottom of the screen.

 After this sync is complete you will see the new Album in your iDevice in the Photos app.

At this point if you try to share the picture with teh share button you will have several choices but the "Delete" button will not be available.

This is not the case with pictures in the Camera Roll Album.

So the only way of "deleting" albums (you cannot delete individual pictures) is by changing your settings in iTunes so that only a selected number of albums get synchronized. In iTunes while your iDevice is connected to the the Photos tab and make sure that you have the "Selected folders" choice selected rather than "All folders".

Once you have selected the folders that you want to synchronize apply your settings and only thos folders will appear on your iDevice.

 

This concludes this tutorial

 

This is an easy question but with a not so easy answer. A little background first.

 

The iPhone and iPad both sync their photo data via the iTunes application. This is the only “official” way of moving pictures from your computer into your iDevice. This is a ONE-WAY sync, which means that you can sync pictures from your computer to the iDevice but you cannot sync from the iDevice to your computer (there are of course other ways of doing this, including Picasa, but would it not have been nice if Apple would have allowed this and made it easier for all of us?) Furthermore, once you sync pictures to your iDevice you CANNOT DELETE them from the iDevice. There is one exception to this and it is with pictures in your Camera Roll, those can be deleted.

 

For example say that I want to sync a folder in my computer called “Buddy”, with the iDevice connected I click on the Photos tab on iTunes, select “Selected folders” and then select the Buddy folder.

Last updated on May 17, 2011 by CompuTrain User