FAQ > Questions > How to Share your LastPass passwords

Search the FAQ for entries containing:

As many of our customer's know we like the LastPass password manager very much. It is our "in-house" solution and one that we share with all of our clients. Lastpass allows you to place all your passwords in one central repository, called lastPass Vault, that is encrypted and online so that you can use your passwords from any browser on any computer. You only need to remember one "master" password and
all your online credentials are saved in your encrypted LastPass Vault. Furthermore the encryption is the best available (AES) and all your data gets encrypted locally before it is sent to LastPass. This means that all the data that LastPass hosts is an encrypted blob that they cannot decrypt, even if they are served with a subpoena.

Now with the latest version of LastPass (v1.70) there is a new premium feature that enables you to share your online passwords with any other LastPass user. They will be able to use your online credentials to logon to a web site and, optionally, see your passwords (you can also hide your passwords from their view). This will allow, for example, you to share your credentials with an administrative assistant while still keeping control of the credentials. Also with v1.70 any changes that are made by the assistant can be brought back to the original sharer and added to their LastPass Vault.

Sharing allows you to share login data for a particular site with another person without exposing the password. The two most common uses for Sharing include:

  • Allowing a family member or co-worker access to a website
  • In a work situation where the company has a login into a 3rd party common site
  1. To share a site, open the local ‘My LastPass Vault’ page or log into your LastPass account on https://lastpass.com
         

  2. Click on the ‘Share’ link next to the site you wish to share.
        
     
  3. In the Sharing dialog box that pops up, enter the email of the person that you would like to share this site. Also make sure that you select "Automatically push changes to sharee", this will auto-update any changes you make (the sharer) to all the people you shared (the sharees) this item with without the need to re-share. Also if you want to allow changes by the sharees select "Track changes made by the sharees", this will give you the opportunity of having the sharees make changes that you can then approve, e.g. a manager with his/her assistant.

     

  4. LastPass fills the body of your email with a default message indicating that you would like to share a site with them. You can edit this message by typing in the message field. You can also change the default setting from Share to Give, which will allow the person on the receiving end to view the password for the shared site.

  5. If the recipient already has a LastPass account, they will receive an email indicating they have received a Share. The next time they log into their local Vault, they will see the shared site listed under the ‘(New Pending Share Offers)’ Group.


  6. Clicking ‘Accept’ will launch the Accept Shares dialog, where you can send a response message and accept the Share. Clicking ‘Reject’ will cancel the Share, in which case LastPass will notify the sender that the recipient did not accept the Share.



  7. If the user does not have a LastPass account, they will be given an opportunity to create an account so they can receive the shared site login data.

After accepting the Share, you can log into that site the same way you log into all of your other LastPass sites, but you will not be able to view the password.

Premium users can now enjoy autosyncing of updates to shared LastPass site entries. If the sharer changes any of the stored site data, such as the username or password, the change will now be automatically synchronized with the sharee’s stored entry.

Last updated on October 5, 2010 by CompuTrain User